Columbia University Medical Center
Ranked #1 in Psychiatry
U.S. News & World Report
Ranked #1 in Research Funding
National Institutes of Health
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital The University Hospital of Columbia and Cornell


There are over 1000 alumni of the NYSPI/Columbia Residency Program in Psychiatry, dating back to the 1930's. Every year a distinguished alumnus is chosen to receive the Alumni Award and to dedicate, in their name, a special fund to support residents attending the APA Annual Meeting.

Some 400 guests enjoyed the NYP/Columbia/Cornell Reception at the Philadelphia Museum of Art during the 2012 APA Annual Meeting. Senator Arlen Specter was awarded our Community Service Award for his commitment to funding mental health services and medical research.

The 2013 APA Annual Meeting will be held May18-22 in San Francisco, CA, where Dr. Lieberman will be installed as President of the APA.  The NYP/Columbia/Cornell Reception will be Monday, May 20, 2013.  We look forward to seeing you there! 

Previous Winners of the Alumni Award

2012 2011 2010 2009
  Steven Hyler Philip Muskin
Deborah Cabaniss David Lowenthal and Stan Arkow Steven Hyler Philip Muskin
2008  2007 2006 2005
Lourdes Dominiguez Dolores Malaspina  Lisa Mellman Stuart Yudofsky
Lourdes Dominguez Dolores Malaspina Lisa Mellman Stu Yudofsky

Further information about the Alumni Association can be obtained from Dr. Lourdes Dominguez and Dr. David Kahn, Co-Chairs of the Columbia Psychiatry Alumni Association
E-mail to or

To check if your contact information is current in the Alumni database, contact Rachel Yarmolinsky, at 212-543-5353 or
email to

Please send updates and news for the Alumni page in InPsych Magazine to Dacia Morris at

Make a contribution


hora interior